A Bit of France on our Doorstep

I am low-key obsessed with France; it’s the one European country I would always return to, given a chance. There is something about the atmosphere and the culture that constantly romances me, and the food is like nothing I’ve experienced anywhere else.

I suppose it also reminds me a little of Cape Town, in that it has so many varied areas making up one country – from the deeply cosmopolitan city of Paris, the river city of Lyon, with its 2,000 years of history, and Toulouse and its incredible art museums, to French Alp towns like Notre Dame de Bellecombe and Chamonix, and the seaside cities of Marseille and Nice.

Funds, however, do not allow for a trip to France on the regular (or even the irregular), but Capetonians are fortunate enough to have a little piece of this glorious country right in our backyard – Franschhoek. I mean, could you ask for anything more like the vineyards of France?

Rows of Grapevines at Vineyard

Okay, come on, eyes back on the blog… but I don’t blame you if you were feeling dreamy and distracted for a moment – Franschhoek is beyond stunning, and we headed out there yesterday for their annual Bastille Day celebrations, commemorating the Storming of the Bastille.

I did second-guess attending this event this year, in commiseration with the people of Nice who were so brutally attacked while enjoying the Bastille Day fireworks, and while we did still go, I tried to keep them very much front of mind throughout the time I spent walking the streets of Franschhoek.

Every year, Franschhoek goes all out on this festival, and every year it seems to be even bigger than previous years. While we didn’t attend the main event at the Huguenot Monument (as the entrance fee was a little steep), there is more than enough to see and do just in the town itself.

The theme is abundantly clear from all the décor around the town, and even the visitors have no shame in getting dressed to match – it’s one of the few times that I have seem people get so involved in a colour theme!

Starting at one end of the main street and working our way down just one side, you come across some intriguing shops, selling oils, vinegars, berets, wine (oh, the wine…), books, trinkets and curios, and jewellery, and pass by all of the restaurants with their mouth watering menu boards.

We had to make a stop at the local chocolate shop, one of my favourite Franschhoek spots, and they happened to be hosting Snobs Coffee – sounded like a brand right up my alley! I had to stop for a brew, and it was incredibly difficult not to give into the temptation of the chocolate shop’s melted chocolate dish…

We then got to the local market, which was admittedly pretty insane. I’m very much an introvert and crowds freak me the hell out, and it was pretty intense under those marquees. However! There were stalls selling some pretty things, and one was making Dutch foods, like Bitterballen and Poffertjies, so a stop had to be made (my great gran was Dutch, so these foods are a huge part of my heritage, and they’re pretty hard to find!).

One last stop saw us drinking a gorgeous red wine at the French Connection, and watching the revellers stroll by as the afternoon started to cool. Franschhoek is the most delightful French getaway outside of France, so, if you haven’t been yet, make a plan to stop by and don’t forget to pick a sprig or two of fresh lavender!

SG1L7184

Leave a comment